Case Database
Filter every documented case by date, drug, state, setting, role, prosecution status, and penalty. Search accepts brand or generic drug names, facility names, and cities.
Showing 15 of 730 cases · page 2 of 2.
| Case / When | Where | Setting | Drug | Method | Role | Prosecution status | Penalty | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
West Hartford long-term care pharmacy settled after alprazolam loss and 22,000-dose discrepancy
2020-06
|
Connecticut | Pharmacy serving about 200 care facilities | Alprazolam and other controlled substances | not stated | Long-term care pharmacy (DEA registrant) | not stated | none documented | source |
|
Farmville pharmacy and pharmacist-in-charge ordered to pay $600,000 and permanently barred from dispensing controlled substances
2020-02-03
|
North Carolina | Independent pharmacy in Farmville | Oxycodone, hydrocodone, hydromorphone, methadone and potentiators such as diazepam, alprazolam and zolpidem | not stated | Pharmacy owner and pharmacist-in-charge | not stated | none documented | source |
|
Pharmacist stole Schedule IV controlled substances from Institutional Care Pharmacy
2019-11
|
Ohio Tiffin, OH |
Institutional Care Pharmacy | zolpidem, modafinil, clonazepam, tramadol, lorazepam, alprazolam | stole controlled substances from employer; observed on security camera; admitted stealing; retrieved stolen drugs from purse and residence | not stated | license suspended indefinitely; summary suspension removed | none documented | source |
|
Lewiston pharmacy technician sentenced to 54 months after stealing nearly 60,000 pills from employer
2019-04-09
|
Idaho | Retail pharmacy in Lewiston | Hydrocodone, oxycodone, lorazepam | not stated | Pharmacy technician | not stated | none documented | source |
|
Pharmacy technician admitted taking Xanax, Lortab and Luminal without payment from a national chain pharmacy
2014-10
|
Maryland Baltimore, MD |
a national chain pharmacy in Baltimore, Maryland | Xanax (alprazolam) 2 mg, Lortab (hydrocodone-APAP) 10/500 mg, Luminal (phenobarbital) 60 mg and 16.2 mg | admitted orally and in writing to taking the drugs without payment and stated the count was not accurate and that she stole the drugs | not stated | registration summarily suspended by the State Board of Pharmacy; terminated from employment; criminally charged in the District Court of Maryland for Baltimore County with theft less than $1,000 and theft-scheme less than $1,000 | none documented | source |
|
A pharmacy technician diverted narcotics by taking and selling them, and the pharmacy's controlled-substance records were found inaccurate as a result
2012-05
|
Mississippi | a retail pharmacy | hydrocodone and alprazolam | A pharmacy technician took narcotics from the pharmacy and sold them; a subsequent state board order found the pharmacy had failed to maintain accurate records of the receipt and disposal of hydrocodone and alprazolam over an extended period. | not stated | The technician was terminated and the technician's license was revoked by the state pharmacy board; the pharmacy itself was placed on two years' probation, fined $5,000, and assessed investigation costs by that board. A separate state board later granted the pharmacy's out-of-state permit application subject to one year of probation because of these violations. | none documented | source |
|
Overland Park pharmacy technician stole hydrocodone and lorazepam, falsified inventories; sentenced to federal probation
2012-04-16
|
Kansas | Retail warehouse-club pharmacy, Overland Park, Kansas | Hydrocodone (more than 500 tablets) and lorazepam (approximately 200 tablets) | not stated | Pharmacy technician | not stated | none documented | source |
Every filtered view has its own URL, so it can be linked or bookmarked. The same filters work on the JSON feed: /api/cases.json.
What each column does and doesn't cover
Every case states When (date) and Where (state) — 730 of 730. Beyond that, a blank cell means the source record does not state that fact, not that it did not happen:
- Setting: stated in 649 of 730 cases (89%)
- Drug: stated in 657 of 730 cases (90%)
- Method: stated in 474 of 730 cases (65%)
- Prosecution status: stated in 474 of 730 cases (65%); a documented penalty (fine, settlement, or restitution) exists for 77 of 730 cases (11%)
- Role: stated in only 255 of 730 cases (35%) — filtering or sorting by role silently hides the rest of the registry, which may still describe the same role in prose without a structured field
Disclaimer
Case summaries are based on public records (DOJ press releases, court documents, news reports). Charges are allegations unless a conviction is noted. Analysis is educational, not legal advice.
Last reviewed: September 2026 · Content is educational, not legal advice.