Drug diversion case registry

931 documented drug diversion cases from US healthcare, compiled from public records.

THE REGISTRY

931 Documented Cases
52 States & Territories
Every Case Sourced to a Public Record
63-Item Assessment, Auto-Saved
Explore the diversion data Every documented case by year, drug, setting and outcome, with a map of cases by state. Charts and Map →

See the full statistics page for every chart, the ranked table of all states and territories, and every case listed state by state.

Counted from 931 records; every figure states its n. How each was counted.

The registry in two charts

Counted from the 931 records when this page loads.

Top 10 states by cases

Case records by state: top 10Horizontal bar chart of case records by state. Maryland: 52; Michigan: 37; Massachusetts: 29; New York: 29; Washington: 29; Texas: 28; Iowa: 27; Tennessee: 27; Connecticut: 26; Mississippi: 25; all 42 other states and territories together: 622. Total 931.0204060Maryland: 5252MarylandMichigan: 3737MichiganMassachusetts: 2929MassachusettsNew York: 2929New YorkWashington: 2929WashingtonTexas: 2828TexasIowa: 2727IowaTennessee: 2727TennesseeConnecticut: 2626ConnecticutMississippi: 2525Mississippi622 cases in 42 other states & territoriesAggregated, so not drawn on the bar scale above.
All 931 records: the top 10 states hold 309, the 42 other states and territories 622. Ties for 10th place go in name order.
Numbers for each state (cases by state) →

Drug classes named in records

Share of records naming each drug classHorizontal bar chart: share of the 931 records that name each drug class. Opioids: 588 (63.2%); Other controlled substance: 241 (25.9%); Benzodiazepines: 53 (5.7%); Stimulants: 34 (3.7%); Anesthetics / sedatives: 14 (1.5%); Anabolic steroids: 2 (0.2%); Drug not stated: 73 (7.8%). 68 records name more than one class, so shares add to more than 100%.0%20%40%60%80%Opioids: 588 · 63%588 · 63%OpioidsOther controlled substance: 241 · 26%241 · 26%Other controlledsubstanceBenzodiazepines: 53 · 6%53 · 6%BenzodiazepinesStimulants: 34 · 4%34 · 4%StimulantsAnesthetics / sedatives: 14 · 2%14 · 2%Anesthetics /sedativesAnabolic steroids: 2 · <1%2 · <1%Anabolic steroidsDrug not stated: 73 · 8%73 · 8%Drug not stated
Share of all 931 records naming each drug class. 68 name more than one class, so shares add to over 100%; 73 state no recognised drug.
Numbers for each class (drug classes) →

The diversion prevention checklist

DivertGuard also has a free self-assessment for hospital, community pharmacy and multi-hospital diversion programs, 45 to 63 weighted items scored as you answer. There is no account; progress saves in your browser.

Open the checklist

CONTACT

Get in touch

Have a question, or see something that should be added or corrected? Send a message — we read everything.

DivertGuard is built and maintained by Alex Rodriguez, MHIIM, CPhT. More about the author →