The registry in three charts
Cases per year, per state and per drug class, counted from the 730 records.
These describe the records collected in this registry, not all diversion in US healthcare: a case that was never publicised or never collected is not in them. Each chart is followed by the numbers it is drawn from. See also the statistics page, the cases by state and the downloadable data.
Cases per year, 2012–2026
| Year | Records |
|---|---|
| 2012 | 12 |
| 2013 | 13 |
| 2014 | 12 |
| 2015 | 30 |
| 2016 | 26 |
| 2017 | 31 |
| 2018 | 32 |
| 2019 | 37 |
| 2020 | 38 |
| 2021 | 48 |
| 2022 | 58 |
| 2023 | 69 |
| 2024 | 77 |
| 2025 | 95 |
| 2026 (to 30 Oct 2026) | 72 |
| Before 2012 | 80 |
| All records | 730 |
Top 10 states by cases
| State | Records |
|---|---|
| Maryland | 43 |
| Michigan | 31 |
| Massachusetts | 25 |
| Texas | 25 |
| Connecticut | 23 |
| Mississippi | 22 |
| Tennessee | 22 |
| Illinois | 19 |
| California | 18 |
| Florida | 18 |
| 42 other states and territories | 484 |
| All records | 730 |
Drug classes named in records
| Drug class | Records | Share of 730 |
|---|---|---|
| Opioids | 444 | 60.8% |
| Other controlled substance | 185 | 25.3% |
| Benzodiazepines | 46 | 6.3% |
| Stimulants | 26 | 3.6% |
| Anesthetics / sedatives | 11 | 1.5% |
| Anabolic steroids | 2 | 0.3% |
| Drug not stated | 73 | 10.0% |
| Records naming at least one class | 657 | 90.0% |
| All records (named + not stated) | 730 |
Class rows add to more than 657 because 52 records name two or more classes and appear in each.
Last reviewed: September 2026 · Content is educational, not legal advice.